Create, Move or Delete PCs/User and Groups

Currentware groups allow you to organize clients into dedicated groups. Groups allow you to provide the proper PCs or users in your organization the correct policies or easily manage your report profiles. The groups carry over for all your CurrentWare solutions. Keep reading to learn how to manage your clients.


Creating new folders to place policies

Creating folders to separate your departments or locations can be done in a couple steps. This will make management of your policies and reports simple.

Each group has its own individual policies set on it. No upper level policies will carry to internal folders.

  1. Open any solution from the left-hand menu.
  2. Click on the folder from the Groups list that you would like to add a new folder under.
  3. Click theoption beside the folder and then choose Add New Group.
  4. Provide the group name such as Block Internet, Managers, Default, etc. Whatever fits your need.
Select Add New Group from the dropdown menu.
  1. Right click on the computers folder
  2. Select the “Add New Group” option
  3. Provide the group name such as Block Internet, Managers, Default, etc. Whatever fits your need.

Moving your PCs or Users to different groups

You can move your Client PCs or Users on a individual basis to select the most accurate group. This will ensure proper policy and group reporting. The clients in your groups can always be moved or updated as needed.

  1. Open any solution from the left-hand menu.
  2. Search or manually find the PC/User that you want to move
  3. Select the PC by clicking the checkmark box
  4. Use the Move option from the menu bar, or Move Computer option from the … selection

5. The Move Computers or Move Users box appears. Choose the destination for your PC or User

  1. Find the PC or User you want to move in the CurrentWare Console screen
  2. Right-click on the PC or User
  3. Choose Move Computers > Select the folder you want to move the client to.

Deleting your Client PCs or User

If you have disconnected PCs in your CurrentWare console from old deprecated or retired PCs, you can delete them from the Console. Any user account that you no longer need can be removed as well, provided it no longer logs in to your network.

NOTE: Any client that is uninstalled while a connection exists between the Server and Client PC will automatically update and be removed automatically.

  1. Open any solution from the left-hand menu.
  2. Search or manually find the PC/User that you want to delete
  3. Select the PC by clicking the checkmark box
  4. Use the Delete option from the menu bar, or Delete option from the … selection

5. Otherwise, select Client Service > Uninstall to fully uninstall the client. This will remove the client entry and information associated with it.

  1. Find the PC or User you want to move in the CurrentWare Console screen
  2. Right-click on the PC or User
  3. Choose Delete to remove the entry from your Console.
  4. Otherwise, select Client Service > Uninstall to fully remove the installed Client from the PC and all associated data.

Don't have CurentWare Installed? Download & Get started with a free trial!